HomeBayard History /  Museum History Chimney Rock Recipe Book / Veterans RoomKitchen / School Room 

The School Room

 The first Chimney Rock School, District No. 50, was built in 1887.  The school was a sod building with a flag pole made of a trimmed tree.

In the early days, the term consisted of 3 months.  1905 marked the first 2 high school graduates from Bayard.  In 1906, W.T. Farnsworth was payed $55.00/month to teach at the school.



Display cases in the School Room show old school letters, a leather football helmet, and many other related items. 

On display in the School Room are class photos, dating back to 1920.

Old school uniforms and jackets are a part of the display in the School Room at the museum.